The NACS Foundation Scholarship

One of the initiatives under our Future Fund program is the NACS Foundation Scholarship. This serves to fund the development and growth of convenience store employees and their family members by investing in their education with our industry’s support.

Many of our convenience industry leaders began at the store level. Through hard work and commitment to learning, these employees followed career paths to senior leadership positions. Since 1994, the NACS Foundation Scholarship has provided convenience and fuel retailers a way to retain, reward, and develop the next generation of industry innovators within their companies.





For nearly 30 years, the NACS Foundation has provided scholarships to industry employees to fuel the next generation of industry leaders from within our member companies.

The NACS Foundation Scholarship Program honors industry icon Jim Yates, founder of E-Z Mart Stores, former NACS Chairman of the Board, and a pioneer in the industry. In 1999, Altria Distribution Group’s donation expanded the program to honor David Erickson, former CEO of Erickson Oil Products.

Scholarship Award

Selected applicants are awarded $3,000 each toward the cost of tuition at undergraduate or community college education. In addition, scholarship recipients receive a stipend to attend the NACS Show—the only global event for all things convenience—where they will be recognized during a special evening ceremony and given the first-hand opportunity to learn more about exciting career paths in the industry.

Receiving Scholarship Funds

Two separate scholarship checks will be mailed to the recipient’s home address, made payable only to the scholarship recipient’s college or university. The first awards payment will be issued in August for $1,500 and the second payment of $1,500 will be distributed in December.

Scholarships are awarded by the NACS Foundation, a 501(c)3, which serves as a point of centralization and catalyzation—amplifying the reach, resonance, and impact of our convenience, supplier, and fuel retail members’ tremendous charitable efforts.


Follow our 2020-2021 Scholarship Award timeline to track progress.

January 2020

2020-21 NACS Foundation Scholarship Program period opens.

June 1, 2020

Submission period for 2020-21 NACS Foundation Scholarship Program closes.

Week of July 13, 2020

Applicant award notification date for 2020-21 NACS Foundation Scholarship status.

August 2020

First award payment in the amount of $1,500 mailed to 2020-21 NACS Foundation Scholarship recipients.

October 11–14, 2020

2020 NACS Show in Las Vegas at the Las Vegas Convention Center. NACS Foundation Scholarship Recipient Awards Ceremony to be held one evening during the show.

December 2020

Second and final award payment in the amount of $1,500 mailed to 2020-21 NACS Foundation Scholarship recipients


The NACS Foundation Scholarship is open to those who meet the following requirements for the 2020-2021 period:

  • Applicants must be currently employed at a NACS retail member company.
  • Applicants must continue working for the nominating company throughout the scholarship period.
  • Applicants must be enrolled or will be enrolled in fall 2020 undergraduate academic studies. Applicants must continue enrollment for the full academic year without interruption.

Responsibility of Scholarship Recipients

  • Recipients must enroll as full-time or part-time undergraduate college students and must continue enrollment for the entire academic year without interruption, barring illness, emergency, or military service.
  • Recipients must remain an employee of the NACS member company for the entire period of the award.
  • Recipients are responsible for ensuring the scholarship checks are delivered to the correct office at their college or university.
  • Recipients must notify the NACS Foundation if they transfer college or university or if they are no longer employed by the company

Important Notes

  • Scholarships are one-year awards. If scholarship recipients continue to meet the eligibility requirements, scholarship recipients may re-apply each year, for up to four years.
  • The scholarships will be applied to tuition expenses at any accredited college or university in the United States and are only made payable to the institution.
  • Recipients may transfer from one college or university to another and retain the award.

Sign-Up to Receive Scholarship Updates

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and subscribe to our email below for scholarship updates.

2020-2021 Scholarship Recipients

  • Alyssa Fawks, Safety Coordinator, Douglass Distributing; Southeastern OK State University
  • Danielle Mosley, HR Coordinator, Superpumper; Arizona State University
  • Evan Johnson, Quality Assurance Field Specialist, Sheetz; Saint Francis University
  • Isaac Johnston, Application Development Intern, Sheetz; Liberty University
  • Jayden Dolechek, Cashier, The Hub Convenience Stores, Inc.; Dickinson State University
  • Kaitlyn Mason, Team Member, Get Go; Chatham University
  • Kayla Swan, Store Assistant Manager, Kwik Shop; University of Kansas
  • Megan Wood, Salesperson, Sheetz; Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • Sara Kendall, Asst Food Service Leader, Quick Chek; Ocean County College
  • Sarah DeMuth, Associate (Food Prep+ Cashier), Sheetz; Hagerstown Community College
  • Matthew McDonnell, Detail Customer Advisor, Delta Sonic Car Wash; The University of Iowa